The following historical societies were established in 1956 (Hawkesbury HS), 1958 (Nepean District HS) and 2001 (Kurrajong-Comleroy HS).
HAWKESBURY: Hawkesbury Historical Society. According to the society’s website, the Hawkesbury Historical Society ‘was formed in 1956 to preserve the historical fabric of our City.’ The society now ‘promotes and encourages the study of the history of the Hawkesbury and collects and preserves matter relating to the history of the Hawkesbury.’ The Hawkesbury Regional Museum, in operation since 1962, originally run by the society, is now run by Hawkesbury City Council; the museum under present arrangements was opened in 2008. The society’s historical collection is housed in a separate building behind the older building, ‘Howe House’. The Hawkesbury City Council Library Service co-ordinates the Hawkesbury Family History Group, which has a website and is on Facebook.
KURRAJONG: Kurrajong-Comleroy Historical Society. According to the society’s website, the society was formed in 2001 ‘to research, preserve and promote the heritage of “The Kurrajong”, the district north of the Hawkesbury River in the Hawkesbury local government area of New South Wales, Australia.’ In 1810 Governor Macquarie referred to the district called ‘the Kurry-Jung Brush.’ The area includes Kurrajong, Kurrajong Heights, Kurrajong Hills, East Kurrajong, Blaxlands Ridge, Colo Heights, Bowen Mountain, Grose Vale, Grose Wold, North Richmond, The Slopes, Tennyson, Glossodia and Wilberforce. Comleroy Road, as well as being the name of a road, was a name given to an early settlement to the north of Kurrajong. The road led to the Comleroy region (originally Coomery Roy; now reduced to a small locality called Comleroi) in the Hunter Valley. The society’s Family History Group is co-ordinating a register of family history studies relating to the area. The society has a digital archive of photographs (searchable online) and is developing a register of early land holdings. Back issues of the society’s bi-monthly newsletter, The Millstone (published 2002-2010), are accessible on the website.
NEPEAN: Nepean District Historical Society. The society, officially formed in 1958, administers the Arms of Australia Inn Museum at Emu Plains. The inn, the oldest part of which was built c. 1826, was the last before the climb up the Blue Mountains. Trade declined when the railway came through in the 1860s. The society saved the inn from demolition in 1971 and supervised its restoration. The museum was opened in 1976. The society’s Open Day each July celebrates the commencement of construction of the road over the Blue Mountains by William Cox and involves re-enactments of life at the time by the ‘New South Wales Corps of Marines’. The latest edition of The Arms Chronicle can be downloaded from the website.